FALLEN | A Review

fallen-by-lauren-kate7Can love survive death?

In Fallen, by Lauren Kate, this question is answered many times over. Daniel and Luce have a connection since the beginning of time. The only problem is that she keeps dying. Oh yeah, and he’s an angel. The story of fallen angels is a varied one in literature, but Kate puts a new spin on it that is refreshing, the idea that one kiss can incinerate as well as recreate.

Before her eighteenth birthday in each of her reincarnated lives Luce meets Daniel, he kisses her, and she spontaneously combusts. It has happened over and over again through eons, but now that has all changed, and no one is sure. In this life Daniel kisses her but she doesn’t go up in flames, and they need to find out why, how that difference can put them all in danger. What at first seems like a miracle might doom them all for eternity.

In this battle between good and evil, there is murky ground, and the love between an angel and a reincarnated mortal is incredible to watch, and even more incredible to recreate time and again through the ages, but Kate does an amazing job of setting up this world and making it believable. From the fallen angels on both sides, to the human beings who are pawns in the game, to the undying commitment between the two protagonists, the world they inhabit is fully fleshed out and intriguing.

Luce is my favorite character because she constantly doubts her world. She isn’t a weak-willed woman who just lets things happen to her, at least not in this book, and she wants more than anything to figure out the reason she hasn’t caught internal fire. While she can’t remember her previous lives at first, it’s her connection to Daniel that survives and keeps her motivated. But she doubts even that love at first, moved as she is by another fallen angel, Cam, who is on the other side of the equation.

But this isn’t a simple love triangle, a la Jacob vs. Edward. It feels more real, more honest, because the fight between Daniel and Cam has gone on for more than a millennia, and the grit that has collected between the two is just as electric as the love between Daniel and Luce. It is this diametrical opposition that fuels the book, and indeed the series as a whole, almost as much as everlasting love does.

I enjoyed Fallen, and the rest of the series, because the prose flows smoothly and I get lost in the world that the characters inhabit. I enjoyed it because it doesn’t stick to boring paradigms, preferring instead to surprise the reader at every turn. It kept me interested from start to finish, which is the best I can say for any book, and at the end I found myself identifying with positions and characters I never thought I would, in ways I never thought I would. That’s the mark of a good book.

I give the novel FIVE stars.

14 Comments

Filed under Book Review, Books

14 responses to “FALLEN | A Review

  1. I read Fallen several (SEVERAL) years ago.
    I liked it pretty alright. (Got all southern for a second there…)
    Read the second book, liked it alright.

    I couldn’t finish the third. :/

    • It’s okay to get all southern. We all do at some point. Your comment reminds me of Divergent as I struggle through the last book in the series now.

      • I haven’t read the last book yet. I didn’t enjoy the second as much as the first. (LOVED the first.)

      • I can’t stand what I call the trickle out effect. It happened to the Delirium series too. So sad.

      • I haven’t read any of the Delirium series yet. It’s one I’ve been itching to get my hands on for a while.

      • The first book is amazing. The second one is pretty good, but the third one is just such a disappointment. But I don’t regret reading any of them.

      • Are there only three books to that one?
        Better than some that just go on and on (and on) and fall off after the first few. Then you’re stuck with trying to figure out if it’s worth it to continue on when it’s garbage, but you already invested so much time . . .

      • Yeah like those books about vampire high school that had like 20 books and only the first four were worth anything. Sad when people don’t know when to quit, when they take the characters places they shouldn’t go and change them in ways that are unnecessary.

        Oh and there are only 3 books to that series, yes. 🙂

      • The House of Night novels? I know I reached the point with that one where it was just like, ‘Why is this many books necessary?’
        Just felt like it was dragging on and on and on. I have no problem with a longer series, but I want to feel like it’s ultimately GOING somewhere, or that there’s at least significant character growth. But I suppose all that is subjective.

        And yes, I agree with what you said.

      • Yes! The House of Night novels! In my opinion the characters just changed too much, somewhere around book 6, and I couldn’t reconcile myself with that.

      • I think maybe part of my problem with that series is I feel like all of the singular books should’ve been combined into larger books. If that makes sense…
        And it’s been such a long time since I’ve read any of them that I can’t even remember the character changes. Certain bits stuck with me more than others.

      • Yes, that makes total sense. Larger books would have felt more cohesive. But I probably would have still begged out after about a million words. 🙂

      • I was going to ask, “Has it been a million words already?”
        But I would imagine it has.
        They just seemed so short.

      • It’s crazy how they add up, the more books that keep getting heaped on top of the pile.

Leave a Reply

