Who I Read

It’s so interesting to me when I find others reading. I always have to interrupt and ask them what they’re reading, and I know it’s poor form and I’m sure some people get upset, but I can’t seem to help myself. I always want to find new books and new authors to supplement my own favorites. In fact, that’s how I have found some of my all-time favorite books and authors, this investigative approach.

18214414

This is really J.K. Rowling, of course, one of my faves.

Other times I do what I call the “Amazon stroll,” where I head to that famous website, go directly to its Books section, randomly choose a book, and read one of its reviews. Then I check out the “Books People Who’ve Looked at This Book Have Also Looked At,” or something like that, and I go from there. I’ve found quite a few diamonds in the rough with that technique too.

I remember when I was a kid my favorite author was Lois Duncan, and then there was Christopher Pike, and whoever wrote the Encyclopedia Brown books, and Judy Blume, and the list goes on. I read every single book of theirs voraciously for years. I’m not quite sure when I “grew up” and I stopped exclusively reading just those authors, but when the floodgates opened they really opened.

Now I have no less than 20 authors I would call varying degrees of favorites. There are some whose book I HAVE TO READ the second they come out, others whose books go straight to the end of my queue, and others who I’ve read maybe one book from but that book captured my imagination. But what takes me from a fan of a book to a fan of that book’s author?

Simply enough, all it takes is reading another book from that author and evaluating it on its own merits. If I like both books, the odds are that author is thrust into the role of one of my new favorites. That’s what happened with Audrey Niffenegger once her second book was released and I enjoyed it. The same is true of Alice Sebold, and so many other writers. Now they sit firm among the group of my favorite authors.

So, who do I read? Here is a small sampling of my favorite authors list:

DragonTears

One of my favorite all-time books.

  • Cassandra Clare
  • Bentley Little
  • Dean Koontz
  • Nicholson Baker
  • Lauren Kate
  • J.K. Rowling
  • Michael Crichton
  • John Grisham
  • Henning Mankell
  • Michael J. Fox
  • Laurie Halse Anderson
  • Harlan Coben
  • Lisa Scottoline
  • Gillian Flynn
  • Scott Westerfeld
  • Jane Green

As I said, the list just continues for pages and pages, but usually the above authors are of the must-read variety for me. Usually when they come out with a new book I get my mitts on it quickly, and usually those books are not disappointing. When one of them does eventually turn out not to be worth the price of admission I know that will be returned to me with their next book, so I don’t sweat it. It’s all part of the reading life.

Who are your go-to authors?

43 Comments

Filed under Authors, Books

43 responses to “Who I Read

  1. Im reading Bonded by Mande Mathews and love it! It was a random find and the way he writes draws me in. Its not a romance, more a magical adventure. I also like The Innocent Mage By Karen Miller, really amazing story!

    • Ooh, those both sound just my speed. I will definitely look into getting them from my local library. I always love finding new and interesting authors to read. I don’t mind romance, by the way, but the magical aspect of an adventure does appeal to me more. Thanks so much for the suggestions!

      • I’ll keep you posted on any new ones I find! Try The Dwarves by Markus Heitz, I haven’t had time to read them yet. I got them for my husband for Christmas and he keeps hounding me to get the other.

      • The Dwarves. I am all over that one. I’ll let you know what I think after I read them. Are you in a book club? You sound like someone who would enjoy discussing books like that.

      • No I’ve never joined a book club… I can’t read as fast as others…

      • No shame in that. Too many people skim instead of really reading in-depth. I started a book club where we have one or two months to read each book, depending how big the book is. I like that method better than just saying every book needs to be read in one month.

      • And I suggest reading The Stolen Child by Keith Donohue.

      • Awesome! I’ll look in to it when I’m done Bonded. I have a huge pile to read plus writing my own… Way better then TV!

      • Ooh, writing your own. What kind of stuff do you write? I think I would be interested in reading your writings. You know, when you’re done writing them. Oh, and TV is absolutely no competition, I would agree. The imagination just beats everything else.

      • Yeah writing my own! It hard work… Though I am very passionate about it. I have created a three realm world. Each book will expand on them. Check out my page on Facebook, that’s where I am posting my updates. http://www.facebook.com/authorcbdixon
        Writing has given me a whole new love for the author and their stories.

        About book clubs. Around my area it’s hard to find a young group that loves reading dark fantasy or other magical books. I live in Victoria BC Canada, most people here are older and like mellow or cheery realism stories. I do like them but theres something in a world created with magic and mythical creatures that I just can’t get enough of. One day I’ll find what I’m looking for or maybe I’ll take your idea and make my own… Hm an idea for the future! Thank you!

      • You’re welcome for the advice. Writing truly is a fantastic escape, but also a wonderful way of getting out the stories that are in our souls too. It’s one of the reasons I love writing my own fiction so much, and why I enjoy blogging the way I do. I will check out your page on Facebook!

      • Awesome thank you!
        I actual wrote a post, The Creative Side, on how art forms such as writing is a release for the mind. People that meet me say that I am a very positive person, then my bata readers read my manuscript… They didn’t believe I wrote it. Demons and nightmares… Dark corridors and any thing wicked… I told them that I am able to pound put the things that scare me and frustrate me, after I write it down I have none of them left and feel cleansed.

      • What a real catharsis writing can be, I agree! I write some of the most twisted characters, but I’m the nicest person you’ll ever see. I love how people always say that writers write what they know. If that’s true, then I guess I’m a very twisted individual inside. Ha ha. What do I need to do to get to read your manuscript? 🙂

      • Then you’d love mine lol. Though I have a hard time understanding punctuation and grammar… The story is really great. I am rewriting it at the moment, over the last year I have devoted my self to studying writing. i have learned much and applying it to my manuscript.
        I will keep you in mind for a bata reader. I don’t have any writers for bata readers and it would really help me expand my understanding and knowledge.

      • Let me know! Sure, I read a lot of stuff, but I’m also a quality writer and editor.

      • That’s awesome! Do you have a website other than your journal blog?

      • My journal is my central website, and I do maintain four blogs, but that one is the one I update most often. I am working on a series of books right now with people who have supernatural powers.

      • Ooooo sounds exciting! I’ve always wanted super powers! The ability to breathe no mater where I am. Under water or in space, dark caves or the top of a mountain! No heavy oxygen tank for me! 😀

      • I used to imagine I had them. My favorite one was invisibility.

      • I always had dreams I could move things with my mind, it would take me all night before I could move a cheerio… I’d be so mad when I tried it awake…

      • That sounds like so much fun to dream such dreams but waking must have been such sweet sorrow dealing with the glory of imagination meeting the reality of life.

      • I have that problem a lot. I am what known as a lucid dreamer. I have full control of the dreams I have. Though if I am in a building I can’t seem to get out. Its okay because everything is a secrete door waiting to be discovered. Another book for when I’m done my Soul Ascension Series

      • I am also a lucid dreamer! I don’t meet many like us out and about in life. When I tell people I can control my dreams they look at me like I’m an alien.

      • Their just jealous, Haha. Yeah I don’t know many either. Its great for writing since I can literally walk though my story and be any character I want.

      • Jealousy knows no bounds. Now I’m going to ask this because I’m lazy but do you have a blog somewhere I could check out?

      • Worldfilledwithchoices.wordpress.com is my blog I use the most. I should do a post on controlling dreams… Hm, another great idea!

      • I’m full of good ideas today. No wonder I’ve written quite a lot while also having a wonderful conversation with a new friend.

      • Awe! Thanks new friend! 🙂 I love ideas!

      • I will be sure to check out your blog later tonight too. Always enjoy our friends to the north. 😉

      • Hehe I alway enjoy my friends in the south 🙂 though I am not very Canadian since I live on an Island that only gets snow once or twice a year 😛 although I still enjoy my maple syrup on everything! Ahaha!

      • I too love maple syrup on everything. I used to think that Aunt Jemima was real syrup because that’s all we had growing up. As for snow we get tons here in upstate New York. You can have some of ours if you get lonely for it.

      • Ah nah… Grew up with the snow my whole life, I’ve been enjoying the cool Canadian tropics. Aunt Jemimas yucky… I grew up with it to, nice and cheep. The stuff right off the trees from Quebec is the way to go. Pricey, but good.

        Well I’m off to my other world. Aiming for ten pages today. Hope to hear from you soon 🙂

      • Ah Quebec. I’ve never been. Only been to Canada twice from what I remember. You ever been down this way? And getting 10 pages done tonight sounds delightful. I wish you good luck with that. I am in blog maintenance mode this evening. What might I be able to call you?

      • I’ve never been to Quebec. I’ve been to the US many times but stuck west down to the south. You can call me chianne (shy-ann).

      • Yeah, I was never going to figure out how to sound that one out. I like what you said about using C.B. and I think it’s a priceless story, one that made me laugh out loud. How are the pages coming? I’ve written three today, but I always have lower counts when I’m having a blog day (like today, where I’ve written on three out of the four of my blogs). I like your name, by the way, and the picture is perfect.

      • I’ve written six so far. Planning the next scene.
        Thank you! I love the story people asked all the time, thought would be a great opening. I may repost it on my blog 🙂

      • You definitely should repost it on your blog. I like the idea for your blog, by the way. I read so many “suggestions” for focusing a blog before I started my journal, but I kind of threw all of them out of the window. I think your blog should reflect what you want, not what you think others are going to want. Maybe I’m just a dinosaur or something. You’re welcome, by the way. I really enjoy talking with other writers, Chianne. 🙂

      • Nah, your right a blog should be about the person writing. Like a online diary. A place to speak the mind and have things like this happen! Making new friends that enjoy the same things you do.

      • I love many different blogs, and I do focus on my poetry blog and on wereadalone, so I know I can do it, but I wanted a place where I could just write my thoughts down. It has morphed some from the early days but it’s still my thoughts, so in that I guess it has structure still. As for the new friends, I’ve made some wonderful ones out here, and I’m glad to add you to the list. But I want to know so much more about you!

      • I have a question that you may be able to answer. My novel starts out with the main character telling the story then it changes into her story. Should I bounce back to where she is telling the story or should I let it continue? I attempted it before and placed it wrong making the story become jumbled. My bata readers said it confused them. I have a perfect spot opened right now, by accident really, and I’m unsure if I should do a flash to the present day… Any thoughts?

      • If you have the perfect spot I say go with it. I’m a big fan of moving seamlessly through flashback and present time, especially when you have a place to put it.

      • Awesome. I’ll try it out. I can always remove it if it doesn’t fit.
        As an editor what do you feel about first person writing. I’m finding it difficult to find a book to read that is first person… Is it really shunned? I watched an interview with The King and he has a negative view on first person… I wont stop since I’ve made it so far, I just want to know for future reference. I naturally started first person writing. Alway have to be honest. What point of view do you write?

      • Can you send me this in email? Mine is sam@samsonlinejournal.com

Leave a Reply

